How We Are Governed

MSBA is governed by a Board of Directors made up of local school board members from districts throughout the state.

The board consists of the President, President-Elect, Vice President, Immediate Past President, K-8 Boards Representative and a representative from each of MSBA’s 17 regions. In addition a representative from Kansas City 33, St. Louis City and Springfield Public Schools, each qualify for an automatic seat on the MSBA Board of Directors. Any board member from Missouri who sits on the Board of Directors of the National School Boards Association or the National School Boards Action Center is an ex-officio member of the MSBA Board of Directors.

Each of MSBA’s 17 regions is represented by a Regional Executive Committee (REC) consisting of:

  • Regional Executive Committee Chair
  • Regional Board of Directors representative
  • Advocacy Committee member
  • Leadership Development Committee member
  • Regional Delegate Coordinator

Each of MSBA’s 17 regions is also represented by a Regional Delegate Team (RDT) to support regional efforts and build a strong communication network among members in advocating for public education. The RDT includes the REC and the delegate from each member board. The board president of each member board serves as the delegate on the RDT and as voting delegate at MSBA Delegate Assemblies unless the local board selects a different delegate.


Missouri School Boards’ Association
Phone: 800-221-6722

MSBA Board of Directors